Eyes Wide Shut EP cover

I was recently asked to design a cover for Irish-based band Darken the Distance‘s new EP, Eyes Wide Shut.

Darken The Distance are an Irish five piece alternative band-Their lineup of striking vocal, two guitars, piano/keys, bass, drums/percussion and harmonies gives a huge yet intimate sound.

I don’t usually do figurative works – but based on my interpretation of the lyrics to the songs on the EP, it seemed appropriate to paint two people staring eyeless at each other in the hazy/ghostly style I’ve become accustomed to. I think it kind of worked. Its hard to tell if their eyes are open or shut or if the two of them are materializing or fading away.

I don’t know, but the band like it so that’s all that matters to me.  You be the judge – and don’t forget to check out the EP by clicking here! I will be updating this post in time with details on where and how to buy Eyes Wide Shut.

Eyes Wide Shut, oil and acrylic on board, 2013

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

