Empty Cork City

One of the central elements of my work is the lack of people in it. I started off on this weird theme of abandoned places some time ago by utilizing (appropriating/stealing) screenshots from T.V programs, films, documentaries, computer games, etc… I took inspiration from things like 28 Days Later, I am Legend, Call of Duty, Life After People and many others.

I then moved on to using my own photographs of empty and abandoned buildings and moving on to empty streets. I used to get up pretty early to get shots of empty streets that were usually bustling with activity. I took photos of train stations, bus stations, airports, supermarkets, housing estates, etc, whenever I was en route somewhere early in the morning. I still do this, habitually, and it seems ingrained in me now.

Recently I was on Google Maps looking for something (a space I have an upcoming exhibition in – but more of that in some other post) and I noticed that along a very specific route the mapping car took there were hardly any people and the shadows cast were pretty long – indicating early morning. I followed the route of the car until the streets were busy again with cars and people. So I decided to work backwards and take some screenshots of certain places and editing out people to use as the basis of my next large scale work (well… larger than usual). I hope to produce a lot more work over the coming weeks and months and will certainly drop them here as I do.

And i just wanted to say THANK YOU to everyone who visits this blog and takes an interest in what I do and to all who “liked” my posts so far and have become followers. If it wasn’t for you I wouldn’t have continued this blog. So thank you all again.

Untitled-9

Untitled-10

Untitled-1

Untitled-2

Untitled-3

Untitled-4

Untitled-6

Untitled-7

Untitled-8

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Top Clicks

    • None
