The art of Caspar David Friedrich

This ain’t no art history lesson so I’m not going to harp on about Caspar David Friedrich’s life story – you can Google that. It will suffice to say he was a German landscape painter involved in the German Romanticism movement in the 19th century. He is regarded as one of the most prolific painters of his time.

Although it was never my intention with this blog to look back on “old masters”, I recently ‘re-discovered’ his work – that is to say I haven’t seen it since I used to flick through the library books in college. I think they might have been some sort of influence on my work back when I began experimenting with my current style. His lonely scenes, often depicting the wilderness, are incredibly poetic and sometimes kind of haunting. If he were alive today he’d probably be designing Black Metal album covers!

Image

Boats in the Harbour at Evening

Image

Winter Landscape

Image

The Cemetery Gate

Image

Cloister Cemetery in the Snow

Image

Seashore by Moonlight

Image

The Abbey in the Oakwood

Image

The Cemetery Entrance

Image

The Grosse Gehege near Dresden

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

