Alicia Dubnyckyj

Alicia Dubnyckyj’s work was shown to me about 4 years ago when I was in college studying Art and Design. One of my tutors gave me a book of Dubnykyjs’s paintings. At first I thought it was a book of photographs – then as I looked closer I realised they were paintings. Then as I read the information I saw that these paintings were constructed using gloss paint on MDF boards. My mind was blown. They looked to me like photographs put through an Adobe Photoshop filter (posterized). It was such a unique style and had a big impact on my own work.

Alicia Dubnyckyj

Of course, when I produce my paintings of street scenes, landscapes, townscapes, cityscapes, seascapes, etc., I either wait for the right opportunity (when the scene is empty of all people) or I use photograph editing software to manually remove people from the image.

Alicia Dubnyckyj

Alicia Dubnyckyj

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

