Alice in Chains

I worked on this painting over two days, first lining things up where they should be with a white oil paint pen – then using thinned down oil paint to give “tonal” qualities to the work. I was in Kinsale with my girlfriend to check out what was going on during the Kinsale Arts Festival and had decided I was going to get some interesting photographs of some landmarks, monuments, ruins, etc… That turned out not to be the case and we instead ended up eating vegetarian burritos and watching a blues band and going to some galleries. I only got a few photos, and of those few, this one seemed like an interesting choice to paint. I always have to find the right photo to paint over each colourful “background”, which I always paint in batches of 4 or 5. Contrast is vital for getting the image to blend with the colours. This image of the boats, one named Alice Again, had nice contrast, with the water reflections and arials on the boats being quite prominent.

 This style I work in is sometimes unpredictable when considering the outcome and because I use thinned down oil in lots of turpentine for the transparent effect of the different tones, lots of drips and spills may occur, which become part of the piece and I feel add to the sense that things are falling apart or have fallen apart and let the elements take control.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

